Still out here…

profile

Hello all, and greetings from Moab, Utah. I’m still on the road, in one of my all-time favorite places no less, where today will be spent photographing one of my favorite national parks- Arches. I arrived in town here yesterday afternoon and got out for an initial round of dodge the tourists to capture a few images at sunset, and remind myself why this place keeps drawing me back. This is my first winter time visit to the area, and the scenery is absolutely stunning, with the red slick rock aglow under bright white snow cover. If you’ve never been to Moab, put it on your to do list. You owe it to yourself to see this place.

For those who are wondering, I haven’t abandoned my daily trip chronicle- just needed to postpone it until I can allow proper attention. In the past few weeks I have traveled all over California and am now slowly making my way east, a return home that will be accelerated after today. In this time, I’ve been on an extremely tight budget and camping as much as possible to save money (though I learned that in California, campsites can cost a pretty penny…) My routine has been to try and camp three or four nights in a row, followed by a motel stop to shower, catch up on some work, and thaw out. It’s been very cold. I have shivered several nights away with temperatures in the low teens or single digits. One night in Yosemite the wind-chill was four below, and I haven’t had a night in my tent that was over 40 degrees yet. All part of the adventure, and I’m well suited for this type of travel. However, once the sun goes down it’s time to get serious about keeping warm. It’s just been too cold to try and write in my tent at night, thus the interruption in blog posts.

Like I say, I have taken advantage of motel stops to catch up on some work, but another project has had to take precedent over this blog. I guess this is as good a time as any to announce that I recently sold my first magazine article. A story I wrote on Tipton’s Hardacre Community Garden will be published in the upcoming March/April issue of The Iowan magazine. I’m really excited and happy to be able to share the story of this amazing local project with such a broad audience. However, over the course of the past few weeks I’ve needed to work on revisions and exchange emails with my editor to fine tune final details- so that’s consumed most of my attention when I’m not driving, taking pictures, or curled in a fetal position deep within my sleeping bag. Truth be told I would have probably camped even more on this trip had I not needed to get indoors, get internet access and concentrate on this task; but the story came together nicely and it’s going to be great to see it in print.

I have however been taking notes and once I get home and settled, I will resume the story of my trip here on this blog. You can look for those posts to appear soon, and if you’re interested in seeing where I’ve been and what I’ve seen, have a look at my Facebook page (click here.) I currently have a selection of photos covering my stops in California, and will be adding more in the days to come. If you haven’t done so already, please consider subscribing to those posts (“Like” the page) and help me expand my audience by sharing with your friends.

Thanks to everyone who has been following along, and I look forward to soon sharing all the details of this grand adventure.

One thought on “Still out here…

  1. Awesome news about the publication in The Iowan Josh!! I can’t wait to check it out and brag to all of my friends and co-workers that I know someone who is published in that magazine! (I work in a library for work study and we get the magazine so I’ll pass the news on for sure:)) I’ve always admired your work with writing and enjoy reading it! Keep up the great work and enjoy the rest of your travels! Stay safe!

Leave a Reply

