Gratitude and Vision…

Haw Creek, Arkansas

 

Greetings all… Just a quick post tonight as I’ve returned from a two week visit to Texas that included at long last the opportunity to spend an afternoon on the Ozark Highlands Trail in Arkansas during my return home. I’ll have plenty more on that just as soon as I can find time to process the photos. In the meantime, I wanted to share this link to a blog post I wrote for a local cause…

“Gratitude and Vision…”

Backyard Abundance is a nonprofit based in Iowa City that works to promote sustainable lifestyles, focusing a great deal on gardening, agroforestry and edible landscaping. After working with the organizations director, Fred Meyer, on some projects this past year, he’s asked me to come on board as an event planner and to help with some public relations work.

I realize that many of you reading this aren’t from Iowa and have little direct connection to the happenings here (aside from the ever present high fructose corn syrup that is a staple in many American diets) but personally I enjoy hearing and learning of these types of projects and ways people are working for the environment and public health in different areas; so maybe some of you will too. And who knows, perhaps some of the things we’re working on can ignite a spark that will inspire such ideas to spread.

This post in particular comes in advance of an event we’re holding this weekend, to gather community input on a new project coming to town. The Wetherby Park edible forest is going to be the first of its kind in Iowa, and will create a public orchard in one of our local parks. It’s really a cool concept and something I’m pretty excited to be involved with. If you’re interested, you can learn more about it by clicking HERE. (And if this sort of thing is up your alley, you might enjoy following the Backyard Abundance Facebook page where we post on tons of great sustainability based topics. Click HERE for that.)

I’ll continue to share updates on some of these projects and my experiences working with Backyard Abundance here on this blog also, so I hope that it’s of some interest to those reading, and let me know if it garners any questions.

Leave a Reply

