Fall Flashback

1310_MotorMill_122

 

Well as usual I’m a little off on my seasons, but as I prep for a number of upcoming art shows and summer farmers markets I’ve finally made time to revisit some images that were pushed by the wayside last fall. I know that this is traditionally the time to kickoff summer and focus on all the fun activities these warmer months have in store, but looking through these shots I can’t help peek ahead to the beauty of Iowa on those crisp autumn days…

 

1310_PikesPeak14_053

Mississippi River Overlook near McGregor, Iowa

1310_PikesPeak14_120

Pikes Peak State Park, Iowa

1310_MotorMill_083

Motor Mill Historic Site, Clayton County, Iowa

1311_wden1_071

Wildcat Den State Park, Iowa

1311_wden1_149

Wildcat Den State Park, Iowa

1311_wden1_127

Wildcat Den State Park, Iowa

As always I welcome any comments, and would be honored if you’d give my Facebook page a “like”, follow me on Twitter, or give this post a share! Thanks!

8 thoughts on “Fall Flashback

    • Thanks Tamara! Much like the Wildcat Den shots I posted to Facebook yesterday, I had several close variations of that one to agonize over. I hate to admit it, but I’m ready to just fast forward through summer (mostly the humidity!) and start planning more fall color road trips around the Hawkeye state!

      • I’ll be in Iowa late August for Old Threshers in my hometown! I’m already disappointed I won’t be there for fall! Do you know if any wildflowers will still be blooming in the Tall Grass Prairie at Herbert Hoover Historical Site at the end of August?

        Tamara

      • Possibly. I’m not sure as far as those toward the end of their bloom cycle, but the gray-headed coneflower might be coming on strong and black-eyed susan should be pretty abundant. Probably some monarda (bee balm) and there may be some golden rod starting to show. Of course it all depends on the weather, and I’ve heard they’re talking a cooler than average summer, but I don’t know if that will accelerate or delay things.

  1. Excellent photos, Josh. Fall is my favorite season, mostly because we don’t get the colors down here in coastal TX. I could view photos of autumn in any season.
    Thanks, Marty

    • Thanks! I had the same feelings last autumn, as travel took me out of state during the peak leaf cover. These photos were the result of trying to make the most of the limited opportunities I had… and I can’t wait for another chance in a few more months!

Leave a Reply

