Half Dome from Olmsted Point

1410_ESWS_457

February 26

Taking you back out to California this afternoon with a sunset image of the iconic Half Dome in Yosemite National Park.

This was shot from Olmsted Point on the final night of the Eastern Sierra Fall Color workshop I attended with Gary Hart in October of 2014. Gary is a Sacramento based photographer who knows Yosemite inside and out. I began following his work through social media three or four years ago, and based on his beautiful photos and good natured, informative blog I knew right away that if I were ever to take part in a workshop, it would be one of his. I took that opportunity a couple years later, and it turned out to be a great experience that both boosted my confidence and provided several new images for my portfolio. (This workshop was the first and only instruction I’ve ever had in nature or landscape photography.)

If you’ve ever considered participating in a photo workshop or are just a nature lover who appreciates breathtaking photography, you should definitely take a minute and give Gary a look. Most of you have probably stumbled across photos of Horsetail Fall in recent days (the Yosemite waterfall that illuminates to glow like fire in late February when conditions are right.) While those images are beautiful, Gary’s latest blog post provides a really good behind the scenes look at the circus which has ensued with increased attention and by photographers desperate to get “the shot.”

I’d be lying if I said I wouldn’t like to photograph the red glow of Horsetail Fall one day, but this is a good reminder for me to also appreciate the quieter moments photographing these Iowa woods. Our scenery here may never be this dramatic, but a little peace and quiet can go a long way!

Check out Gary Harts blog at…
http://garyhartblog.com/

Leave a Reply

