Palisades-Kepler State Park

1410_IA23_105

February 29-

Today’s photo is a scene from Palisades-Kepler State Park, just west of Mount Vernon, Iowa. Palisades is a beautiful woodland park with scenic bluffs overlooking the Cedar River. It’s proximity to places like Cedar Rapids and Iowa City make it a popular local destination; but like most Iowa parks it’s not difficult to find pockets of peace and solitude away from the crowds, and a weekday visit almost insures you’ll have the area mostly to yourself. While gorgeous anytime of year it is especially stunning in the fall, as seen here, when the forest is alive with color.

With this I guess we’ve come to the end of my month-long trial run doing these Photo of the Day posts. What do you think? I guess I’m seeing mixed results. It’s definitely driven more traffic to this blog and my Facebook, and I’ve picked up some new followers and page likes which is great. However, Facebook analytics also show me that I’ve had a handful of people “unlike” my page in the last month. I’m not quite sure what to make of that- maybe some people find these posts annoying, I don’t know. Regardless, in the big picture I maintain these pages for people who want to see my photography, not those who don’t; so I think I’ll keep this series running for a little while and see where it goes.

Thank you all for the feedback and support! I’ll do my best to make this worth your time to check out.

Leave a Reply

