Edinburgh, Scotland

1511_Edin_157

March 6-

Today’s photo is a shot of the Dugald Stewart Monument and Edinburgh, Scotland as seen from Calton Hill.

I was extremely fortunate to get the chance to visit Scotland, Ireland and Northern Ireland last November on a vacation with my wife and her family. We spent a couple of days here in Edinburgh where Cris lived for a brief time after college, a few more in Dublin where my sister-in-law Kelly lives now, and took a day trip up to see Belfast and the Giants Causeway along the north channel of the Irish Sea. It was my first “Old World” visit, and an amazing experience all around.

Of course you probably guessed that while this wasn’t one of my usual nature excursions I still found plenty to photograph along the way. One of the nice things about this Photo of the Day series is it has forced me to get busy again with some long neglected editing work. I’m finally catching up with some of my past adventures, and am really anxious to share the results with you all.

With that in mind, I’ve decided to do my first Photo of the Day theme week. For the next seven days, it’s going to be all about Edinburgh. I’ll post some of my favorite shots from this awesome city daily on Facebook, and here on the blog I’ll share those that I’ve featured along with more photos and in depth commentary from the trip.

I hope you enjoy, and if it seems to go over well I’ll have a similar series on Ireland/Northern Ireland still to come.

Leave a Reply

