Whitetail in Winter

1602_NEIA7_009

March 19-

Our Photo of the Day this evening is a simple shot of a whitetail doe playing hide and seek, which I captured last month while hiking at Effigy Mounds National Monument in Northeast Iowa. I think I caught her a little off-guard as this unit of the park gets few visitors, especially in the winter (mine were the only human tracks to enter these woods since at least the last snow, a week prior.) While I might have been better served to switch to my telephoto lens and try for a better shot, that would have meant dropping and unzipping my pack- which would have likely sent her running. Instead I settled for a shared moment, speaking softly in hopes of conveying that I meant no harm- pausing only for an instant to admire her and snap this photo, then moving on to keep from causing additional undue stress. The deer walked away equally as calm. It was one of those moments of utter peace that can only be experienced while slipping gently through the forest.

Leave a Reply

